Daily Archives: March 29, 2011

Building Killinger (Caitlin)

It’s been a hot minute since we’ve talked cosplay here at the blog, so you, dear readers, are due for updates! As I mentioned in an earlier post, I’m building a Lady Henry Killinger costume for SDCC. Killinger is on track to be my first completed con costume, and I may have the opportunity to debut it at next month’s Starfest. So, you know, I’m excited.

Here are some of my materials/base items:

Chef’s coat, double breasted, black. Chefworks has a lovely coat in a women’s cut, and this baby fits like a dream. I’ll be putting the Killinger logo on the front in the next day or so.

Stethoscope. I know, I know, Killinger’s isn’t red. BUT IT WAS SO PRETTY, I HAD TO BUY IT.

White house slippers. I’ll be walking SDCC incomfort, thank you. I used black felt to make the skull designs, and will be hot gluing them on shortly.

 

 

 

The magic murder bag. I found this bag on Ebay after an exhaustive murder bag-related search. The handcuffs, silver Killinger logo, and interior lights are a work in progress.


The mask.
This base mask was at a lovely little costume shop here in Denver called Disguises. It has some nicks on the nose, but I fixed it with a little paint. I used a sewing pencil to mark the mask as a guide for the paint. I painted the design in with paint pens, which I think came out beautifully.

Obviously, there’s still plenty of work to do. However, I’m confident that this can be a respectable costume and will do justice to Dr. Killinger’s magic murdering ways! Stay tuned for more updates!